The GypsyChicks

Repurposing With A Purpose

Here’s your sign………..

I really like alot of the wooden signs I’ve seen on Pinterest & finally decided to try my hand at making my own.  I learned a few things along the way, so I’ll share what I learned about what worked for me & what didn’t.

 IMG_5546

Materials List

Scrap wood
(I used what I had laying around the shop)

Paint
(I used what I had)

Paint Roller
(I used a roller because it was much quicker than using a brush)

IMG_5551IMG_5547IMG_5549

IMG_5550IMG_5548

Old Town Chalk Paint can be purchased at Decades

CeCe Caldwell chalk paint can be purchased at Feathered Nest

Plaster Paint can be purchased at the Rink Gallery

Finally, Behr samples can be found at any hardware store

IMG_5552

Here are the boards with a fresh coat of paint…………if only my blogging skills were as snappy as my painting skills……….lol

IMG_5554IMG_5553I found some cool quotes from Pinterest

Typed the quote using Microsoft Word in the desired font & chose “outline” in the font menu

Cut my words & letters apart as needed

I laid down graphite paper on my board, taped my letters & words to the graphite paper, & TAPED THE GRAPHITE PAPER TO MY TABLE so it wouldn’t slide around

Next, I traced the letters using a wide lead pencil – you can use a pen or pencil – doesn’t really matter just as long as you use enough pressure to transfer the image

As you can see, I lifted the corner to double check my letters were actually transferring properly

 IMG_5555 IMG_5556
Just a shot to give you a better visual

IMG_5631

I used a walnut stain on the back of my boards
Painted the traced letters with black chalk paint
Stained the front with the walnut stain – the green sign is stained – the red is not

(Please do not mind the mess…….next time I’ll move that orange cord)

IMG_5633

The red sign has now been stained in this pic – you can see how the stain toned down the red paint

IMG_5635 IMG_5637

Close-ups

(of the signs – not the air-hose roller-upper…….lol)

IMG_5639

 This yellow sign looks cool as is………but check out what it looks like after I stained it……….

IMG_5641

How cool is that yellow sign now???

And how about that long gray board you saw at the beginning of this post ……..it is now “badass”

The Smoky Mountain Chalk Paint dries a blue-ish gray which is part of the badassery!

IMG_5645

Forgot about my welcome sign til the end when I noticed it leaned up the garage door – oops

Soooooooo………..there ya have it

There’s gobs of tutorials out there……..so grab some scraps & get busy with it!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

